YourMicro.com - HPI Micro RS4, Losi Mini-T, XRay M18, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop
Forums, M18, M18T, RC18T, Mini-LST, Mini-T, Micro RS4, XRay, 1/18, 18th scale
M18 Hop-Ups, M18 Parts, Mini-LST Hop-Ups, Mini-LST Parts, Kyosho, Atomic, 3Racing, Country Alloy Works, Castle Creations, Trinity, Intellect, United RC, Battery Packs, 2/3A
Old 09-16-2007, 05:58 PM

rc18 differentials... drop in?

i don't get it, i am a good driver, i never crash into stuff, i might spin it out occassionally, but i don't hit stuff... aah i guess im just hard on the throttle, lol
i blew up my rear differential today. halfway through my seventh charge, i just noticed the front wheels spinning out, and noticed it was suddenly front wheel drive... i pulled the diff. apart, and man it was messed up. i didn't let any dirt get in, and i do grease them regularly, but the the threaded shaft had snapped, and one of the washers was broken... soo, can i replace it directly with an rc18 diff, or does it require modification? at this point im running an rc18 driveshaft, with pp end gears, will i have to change these as well? i have seen rebuild kits for the rc18 diffs online, can i use this, and the original pp differential? can you get entire differentials online?

also, does anyone know how many teeth are on a stock pp pinion gear?

thanks,
babetta
Old 09-16-2007, 06:11 PM

Ok, I may have a solution.

First, are you supposed to grease your differential regularly? What do you use to grease it?

And here's the solution ( I hope )

"III- DIFFERENTIALS
1- 18t ball diff will drop in bearings and outdrive sleeves will be reused (will be required for other mods)
2- 18t ball dif rebuild kit. Megetech does not offer a rebuild kit for their diff, however the 18t rebuild kit fits perfectly.
3- 18t diff input (pinion) gear fits the PP shaft exactly"

Taken from a nice list over at the Propulseforums.com .

Here's the link to all of the interchangeable parts.
Old 09-16-2007, 06:18 PM